Announcement Bar

What Are The Different Types Of Midwives?​

There are many types of midwives so it is important to understand the differences between them.

Traditional midwives have been trained in midwifery practice from other midwives. They are not certified or licensed which limits their ability to carry medications. They are recognized in the state of Oregon as Midwives.

A Certified Professional Midwife (CPM) is certified through a national organization; North American Registry of Midwives (NARM). In the states of Oregon and Washington, CPMs are also required to be licensed through the State which has a few additional requirements. Once licensed, they are a licensed direct-entry midwife (LDM). Their license allows them to carry important medications; anti-hemorrhagic drugs, medications for baby, oxygen, and others. These midwives provide care in community settings; home or birth center.

A Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM) is trained in nursing as well as midwifery. They are able to prescribe medications and provide well-woman care as well as maternity care. CNMs can provide care in hospitals, birth centers, or homes.

Privacy Policy

Beautiful Births LLC I All Rights Reserved

Website by Weldwood Marketing

Photo Credit: Sara Griggs